Sunday, 29 July 2012


*According to A  Kumar, master cards of post offices will be different from debit cards of other banks. Postal master cards will be prepaid ones that can be refilled or renewed with maximum balance of Rs 50,000. One can withdraw Rs 10,000 only at a time. Maximum transaction including shopping and withdrawal can be done up to Rs 20,000. It can be used at the ATMs of the above three banks, post offices with ATM facilities and at points of sale for shopping purpose.

*"For this, we have tied up with IDBI, HSBC and ICICI bank and others will join us in near future," he said, adding they were not waiting for further tie-ups.

* Customers can also avail of ATM facilities at 31 head post offices  including Buxar, Nawada, Jamui, Banka, Madhepura, Gopalganj, Siwan, Marhaura (Saran), Biharsharif (Nalanda), and Jehanabad, along with the HOs where CBS is starting.

*"Before starting CBS facilities we are verifying and scanning the account details, signatures and photographs of customers, under 'know your customer (KYC) plan," director, postal services and marketing, Anil Kumar, informed.

*Head offices of post offices such as Patna GPO, Bankipore (Patna), Muzaffarpur, Bhagalpur, Gaya, Munger, Ara (Bhojpur), Chhapra (Saran), Motihari (East Champaran), Hajipur (Vaishali), Begusarai, Saharsa, Purnia, Katihar, Darbhanga, Laheriasarai (Darbhanga), Madhubani, Samastipur, Sitamarhi and Bettiah (West Champaran) are going to start CBS facilities.

*Postal department is coming up with Core Banking Solution (CBS) at 20 post offices located in different parts of the state. These post offices will be inter-connected by April-end. Through CBS facility at these post offices, customers can access their accounts and carry out simple transactions from any of the member branch offices. CBS is a general term used to describe the services provided by a group of networked bank branches. 

*Pune region of postal department on Thursday unveiled 'Chotukool', a solid state cooler. Postal department will sale this product in Pune region along with Godrej.

(SOURCE:- Times of India)